School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine


The residency in Otolaryngology is an accredited integrated university program with a certificate issued by Wayne State University School of Medicine after successful completion of the training program. The residency includes clinical, research, and academic training conducted at a variety of facilities throughout the Detroit Metropolitan area. The overall mission is to provide excellent training to residents in otolaryngology with the expectation the graduates will become Board Certified proficient practioners and academicians.  The Department of Otolaryngology has 20 residents per year and additional openings for fellows in Neurotology and Head and Neck Surgical Oncology. The residency program is governed in large measure by an updated curriculum and the rules detailed in the Resident Handbook.

Numerous teaching conferences are offered during the week, typically on Wednesday mornings. These include Grand Rounds, Head and Neck Tumor Conferences, Basic Science, Journal Clubs and Research Seminars.  Several courses are offered by the department including temporal bone, sinus, facial plastic, soft tissue, head and neck anatomy, laser, and pathology. Attendance in these courses and conferences is mandatory.

In addition to the regularly scheduled educational activities, all residents are asked to take the Continuing Education Course of the American Academy of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery. Funds are available for residents to attend the national meetings or selected special instruction courses at other institutions when presenting at these meetings.

The residency program is directed by the Program Director, Giancarlo Zuliani, M.D.  Rotations at participating hospitals are managed by a faculty site director, who is responsible for the quality and quantity of the otolaryngologic experience at his/her respective institution:

  • John D. Dingell Veteran’s Administration Hospital (550) beds - Dr. Mayerhoff is chief and site director at this newly designed facility across the street from the Detroit Medical Center;
  • Karmanos Cancer Institute and hospital - Dr. Folbe is the site director of this facility
  • Oakwood Hospital and Medical Center – Dr. Carron serves as site director for the Oakwood Hospital system.
  • Crittenton Hospital- Dr. Monsell serves as site director.

The residency program is managed by the Faculty as a whole. There is also a Resident Recruitment Committee and a Resident Review Committee for the purpose of resident evaluations, recruitment and counsel. The Faculty meets monthly to review educational programs and evaluate resident suggestions, and annually with resident representation for review, evaluations and strategy for the next year. The Resident Recruitment Committee is chaired by Dr. Zuliani and is composed of numerous full-time clinical and research faculty members and the cheif administrative resident. This committee evaluates applications, conducts interviews and selects residents for the Match. The Resident Review Committee, which is chaired by the Department Chairman, Dr. Lin, evaluates resident performance biannually with an opportunity for feedback and discussion that will enhance education.  The faculty meets with the resident representative at the end of the year to review recommendations, confidential evaluations and suggestions for quality improvement.